My First NaNoWriMo

Participant-2014-Twitter-Profile

Oh, God.

That’s the reaction I keep getting whenever I mention my joining the ranks of NaNoWriMo writers. I love it. It makes a fierce grin spread across my face, because every exclamation makes the challenge all the more alluring. For years, I’ve wanted to write books, to get down all these plots and stories and characters swirling around my mind, but I’ve lacked the discipline. I kept making excuses, letting school work get in the way of that dream.

But now, my school work IS my dream, courtesy of the Rowan University Master’s in Writing program. My final thesis to complete my program is, by my choice, to write at least 30,000 words of a literary fiction novel. While class deadlines have already pushed me to write about 6,000 of those words, I’m buckling down this November to up that to at least 15,000 by November 30th. Several of my graduate cohorts (*cough* Jason *cough*) have already decreed they would push me a bit farther than that. While 15,000 is my threshold goal, if I could reach my 30,000 and have an entire semester’s worth of work completed with several months to spare? I’d sleep a lot easier at night. Also, my wine cellar would be much emptier.

So here we go, starting tomorrow my writing buddies and I (which, if you’d like to buddy up here is my profile page) will embark on our month-long adventure! The Rowan University Writing Center, of which I am the Graduate Assistant, is an offical Write In location for the Glassboro, NJ area, so every Tuesday evening 6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. we’ll be typing away. I’m excited, I’m surrounded by friends, and I can’t wait to kick NaNoWriMo butt!

2 thoughts on “My First NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

